My very own kin…by tammi joyner

MY VERY OWN KINBY TAMMI JOYNER – 2012

YOUR KINSHIP MEANS EVERYTHING TO ME…

SOME SAY, “THE TRUTH WILL SET YOU FREE”…

BUT YOU…

YOU MINE…

I KNOW YOU MINE, I WAS THERE WHEN YOU WERE BORN…

I WAS NOT TADDER AND TORN NOR ALL FORLORN…

I WAS HEALTHLY AND STRONG…

I COULD READ…

I COULD WRITE…

YOUR WERE BORN BY DAY NOT BY NIGHT…

WE HUNG A BANNER SO ALL COULD SEE…

“ITS A BOY” THE SIGN DID READ…

I LOVE YOU NOW…

I LOVED THEN…

I DID NOT WORRY ABOUT THE COLOR OF YOUR SKIN…

AH…OH…YOU WERE BORN SO “WHITE”…

YOUR FATHER DID LOOK AT YOU LIKE “WHAT A SIGHT”…

YES, YES, YOU WERE VERY WHITE…

OH,NO, NO, YOUR COLOR DID NOT BOTHER ME…

ALTHOUGH, YOUR FATHER DID YIELD ON LIKE I WILL OR I MIGHT…

NEVERTHELESS, YOU MY VERY OWN KIN…

I LOVE YOU NOW, I LOVED YOU THEN…

DON’T HOLLA…NO HOOTIN…I DID NOT CUT OUT…

 
THE KINSHIP THING THATS WHAT IM TALKIN ABOUT…
YOU IS MINE…
I WAS AWAKE WHEN YOU COME OUT…
DON’T WORRY ABOUT A THING…
THIS IS SOMETHING WE CAN TALK OUT…
I LOVE YOU NOW…
I LOVED YOU THEN CAUSE YOU MY VERY OWN KIN!TO MARQUEL GREEN FROM TAMMI JOYNER
Published in International Who’s Who in Poetry 2012 page 80
.

One thought on “My very own kin…by tammi joyner

Leave a Reply

